Wednesday, February 3, 2010

Toilet-training... really?


Sometimes I feel like my insanity is self-induced.... other times, I know it is caused by my children. Take this for instance... We are working very hard at potty training Ethan... actually he refuses to wear diapers during the day and, though for some reason he is better at remembering to go to the bathroom when he is "commando", he insists on wearing underwear. So, probably at least once a day, we have an accident... it isn't a full blown, pee-all-over-the-floor accident, but he is just wet enough that we have to change his jeans. (Very annoying)! I can't say I like diapers, but sometimes they are so much easier... especially on those days we go through three pairs of jeans.

Tonight I decided that what he does is he saves his "control" for bedtime, and especially after he has his feety pajamas on. The kid went to the bathroom before his bath, after his bath and then once right as I was putting him to bed. Then about 20 minutes later he comes wandering into my room saying he has to go to the bathroom again! How does he make all that liquid!? With his feety pajamas on he can't really climb up on the toilet by himself and he can't put his diaper back on by himself, so I have to assist him. I'm still not sure why it is a huge deal for him to have an ounce of wetness in his diaper at night... it doesn't bother him in the morning if he is wet.

Of course, Ethan, who can't stop talking says out of nowhere, "Papa's in charge of me, you're in charge of Elia and I'm in charge of you!" Ha! Fat Chance Kiddo! Though sometimes I am surprised at the control a little 2.5 year old can have over me!